The Curriculum of the Steiner School - Class 3

Notes and Lesson Plans

Foods of the World
updated January 8, 2022


Recorded here is my own personal collection of articles, resources, favorite links, teaching ideas, and lesson plans. It encompasses many years, from the very beginning of my experience studying and learning about Waldorf to the present time. People from all around the world visit my site and recommend it to others. Welcome!

This site records my journey. I hope my honesty is encouraging and helps break down some barriers that may prevent people from trying Waldorf methods. Because this is an ongoing site documenting my curriculum planning and ideas, some materials are more Waldorf-y than others. Please feel free to take what you like and leave the rest.

This page has helpful links and LOADS of free resources to help you plan your third grade year. Enjoy!



Foods of the World
for Class 3

Mission Statement - Consulting Services - Lending Library



Rationale

Check out my Foods of the World blog post for the reasoning behind this block and my detailed initial brainstorming for it. By having it as a blog post, people can comment and share recipe ideas.

I absolutely LOVE the idea of getting a Scratch Off World Map Poster to do instead of a MLB for this block. We will scratch off each country from which we make a recipe!

I'm keeping track of what we make below (note: this became a year long project). There are LOTS more recipes included in my brainstorm than were possible, but I still had a great time finding them!


Tuesday, Oct 12

    since this block is by student request, we started by answering her first question:
    what does kosher mean?

    taste a matzo cracker

    open up our new map!


AFRICA

Thursday, Oct 14


Monday, Oct 18


Tuesday, Oct 19


Wednesday, Oct 20


Thursday, Oct 21


Monday, Oct 25


Tuesday, Oct 26

    find Egypt on our map

    make Hummus
    with ground sumac (available at the Co-op)


Wednesday, Oct 27


SOUTH AMERICA

Wednesday, Nov 3


Thursday, Nov 4


Monday, Nov 8


Tuesday, Nov 9


Wednesday, Nov 10


Monday, Nov 15


EUROPE

Tuesday, Nov 16


Wednesday, Nov 17


Thursday, Nov 18


Monday, Dec 6


Wednesday, Dec 8


Monday, Dec 13


Tuesday, Dec 14


Friday, Dec 17


Tuesday, Jan 4


Wednesday, Jan 5


ASIA


OCEANIA


NORTH AMERICA

Tuesday, Nov 2

    find Nicaragua on our Scratch Off World Map

    make Pinolillo
    (even sweetened with honey this recipe was extremely bitter and wasn't a success; I should have used roasted cacao beans instead of raw cacao powder and more roasted fresh corn)



Affiliate links through Amazon cover domain registration, web hosting, and website backup fees. This allows me to offer
my materials for free. Any extra revenue is used as our homeschool budget for the month. Thank you for your support!

Waldorf Curriculum Copyright ©2006-2022